6 Replies - 1858 Views - Last Post: 17 October 2007 - 08:02 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A different asterisks problem question

Posted 17 October 2007 - 07:23 AM

Hey guys, I am new to C programming and I am tackling the ( seems like ) common asterisks problem.

There are four figures which you have to make the program print out. I have successfully completed the first two. The last two require spaces to be entered to make the shape. The shape is:

Its basically that.. just as you can imagine, its 90 degrees straight up on the RIGHT side of it ( couldn't get the real shape to come out on this haha ). The other one is that except shape (with 90 degrees on the right side ) flipped upside down.

My code for the first shape is ( code for the second shape is almost the same ):

#include <stdio.h>

int main (void)

{
int x, y;

for ( x=1; x<11; x++ )

{

for ( y=1; y<=x; y++ )

{

printf( "*" );

}

printf( "\n" );

}

return 0;

}

My problem is, I don't know how to get the spaces in there to make the shape. I've tried almost everything I know how to do. Any help is appretiated!

This post has been edited by shanebp: 17 October 2007 - 07:24 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A different asterisks problem question

• dream.in.assembly.code
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A different asterisks problem question

Posted 17 October 2007 - 07:32 AM

Its basically that.. just as you can imagine, its 90 degrees straight up on the RIGHT side of it

You mean the mirror image of what is being shown?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 October 2007 - 07:33 AM

What you would want to do is set your total width. Check how far from the right to the left you'll be printing, & then subtract that number from the total width.