• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 2113 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2014 - 07:39 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming with a learning disorder

Posted 21 October 2014 - 03:33 AM

Hello everyone,

Let me introduce myself real quick. I'm Fishb0ne, I'm an avid gamer and I enjoy reading (ACTUAL BOOKS!) and collecting Magic The Gathering. I'm 20 years old, Belgian who lives in England, 6'4" tall, skinny like slenderman, I have two leopard geckos called Leo and Lexy, I'd love to own a Yemen chameleon and I frequent forums in my spare time. I'm currently studying IT & Business Level 3 and I'm hoping to study ethical hacking at university.

Now that we got that out of the way, let me get to my problem. I have been trying to learn to program for around 3 years now and I've been struggling quite a lot with it. I've bought several books in both Dutch and English and I still cannot make sense of them. I have NLD (Non-Verbal Learning Disorder) and this has been holding me back in learning programming quite a lot. I have a reasonable amount of knowledge around programming languages but I can barely program. I have tried Java, C#, C++, Objective-C, C, Visual Basic, Python, Ruby, PHP, Javascript, PASCAL, Fortran, Eiffel, BASIC, assembly languages and a lot more but I just cannot get the hang of it.

I did an evening course in Visual Basic which I failed hard because I just did not understand a word of what the teacher said. I'm very eager to learn and I love learning but this has been so frustrating and hard for me because I've just been stuck behind a brick wall ever since I started. I do not give up really quick but I have had times where I thought to myself that I should just give up. I haven't gotten farther than doing arrays in Visual Basic.