3 Replies - 224 Views - Last Post: 08 December 2014 - 10:42 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hackathon Help

Posted 06 December 2014 - 04:49 PM

Hi,

I'm a Computer Science student in her third year (about to begin my first semester) and I want to do hackathons. I've been programming since I was about 9 and my school has enough resources and what not concerning actually participating, so I asked some of my professors and students that do it and they told me to just keep doing it...

It's not that I think that's bad advice, but they told me it was just challenges and you do it like a game and it gets easier. I tried one that my uni hosted and I just.. didn't get what was going on. They told us to build a software that connected something to social networking or something like that and I didn't understand a few things:

1) Are there specific languages I'd have to use?
2) Do I absolutely need a team?
3) Is it just like.. they say "build this software" and you fill in the rest of the blanks?

I really want to get into hackathons because I think it will look good on my resume for cyber security and because I really want to do something with my coding knowledge.

I already make games on the side and make small bits of software and cheating stuff for homework (like programs that do the calculus equations so I know if I'm right or not b/c some of the solutions aren't in the back and the tests can be quite unforgiving if you don't practice.

I know LOTS of languages so that's not the problem .

Any help will be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hackathon Help

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hackathon Help

Posted 06 December 2014 - 05:13 PM

1) Are there specific languages I'd have to use?

Depends on the Hackathon.

2) Do I absolutely need a team?