Hide & Show MC's

Path issues - Not getting the path thing correct

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 8498 Views - Last Post: 29 September 2008 - 11:03 PM

#1 bmcc81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 312
  • Joined: 10-July 07

Hide & Show MC's

Posted 23 October 2007 - 12:26 PM

Hi,

I’ve go this project: There is 3 swf that load ontop of each other.

1st swf – no problem

2nd swf = has main mc on it, which needs to be hiden and shown when needed.

3rd swf – merchants.swf what I want is to show the mc main that is one swf lower on the 2nd swf.

I used:

on (press) { 
   if (_parent.merchants._visible) { 
   trace(“brandon”); 
   main._visible = true;
  } 
}



I think I have a levels issue, but I don’t know how to get the code to get to the main mc? Can anyone help with finding main mc?

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hide & Show MC's

#2 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 23 October 2007 - 12:32 PM

Try using the _levelx property, or _root and accessing it directly.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 bmcc81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 312
  • Joined: 10-July 07

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 24 October 2007 - 06:41 AM

View Postgirasquid, on 23 Oct, 2007 - 12:32 PM, said:

Try using the _levelx property, or _root and accessing it directly.


Does anyone know how to get down a swf?

To control a swf that is loaded underneath a top swf.
From the Top swf button must make a MC on the bottom swf become visible.

Can you control a swf that is loaed underneath?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 24 October 2007 - 10:10 AM

If you have 3 SWF's:

1.swf, 2.swf, 3.swf

You can access 3.swf if it's loaded into 2.swf(which is loaded into 1.swf) using _level2, I believe. I'm not at home right now so I can't do any testing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 cclements  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 08-November 07

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 08 November 2007 - 07:08 PM

from what i am understanding you are not having a visibility issue but a levels issue. if you want to place a MovieClip on top of another one on command because it is currently underneath the MovieClip you have to use what is called swapDepths(). Here is how you use it:
// name 2 movieclips clip1 and clip2
// on a blank place this code
clip1.swapDepths(clip2)


If clip1 is on level5 and clip2 is on level78, those 2 movieclips will exchange depths. you can also use swapDepths() by passing a level number into the function.
clip1.swapDepths(22)
// clip1 is now on level22


Hope that helps,
Charles
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Slpixe  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 28-September 08

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 28 September 2008 - 07:43 AM

disregarding the problem,

I'm trying _visible = false;
and getting the error
Statement must appear within on/onClipEvent handler

any idea's?

This post has been edited by Slpixe: 28 September 2008 - 08:04 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 DilutedImage  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 646
  • Joined: 20-November 06

Re: Hide & Show MC's

Posted 29 September 2008 - 11:03 PM

View PostSlpixe, on 28 Sep, 2008 - 07:43 AM, said:

any idea's?

Yeah. Create your own thread.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1