6 Replies - 1134 Views - Last Post: 13 February 2015 - 01:32 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

As a freshman, what should I be doing for my career?

Posted 26 December 2014 - 03:33 PM

I'm a freshman in college. I did really well in my first semester, but I know that internships and experience always trump GPAs when it comes to getting hired. As such, I want to make sure I am doing all possible to further myself. I only took a Data Structures class in Java the first semester, and I am taking Discrete Structures and Data Structures II next semester, along with other required math and science classes. I don't know much computer science or programming yet. I know the little bit of Java that they taught us, mostly just arrays, creating objects and methods, a little bit of GUI stuff but not much at all.

The thing I am concerned about is beefing up a resume for internships. My school requires us to apply for at least one internship per year, but I don't even know what I would put on my resume. I don't have much experience programming, and I haven't built any projects or worked on anything on the side. I feel like I couldn't do anything I could imagine because I really don't know much about computer science to begin with. I am considering teaching myself the new Swift language for iOS apps, as I think that is a fun and easy way to demonstrate what I know.

What does everyone suggest I do? What should I be doing at this early point in my college career? Thanks everyone in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: As a freshman, what should I be doing for my career?

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: As a freshman, what should I be doing for my career?

Posted 26 December 2014 - 03:44 PM