Could I be programmer without any degree?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 1493 Views - Last Post: 29 January 2015 - 07:51 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Could I be programmer without any degree?

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:46 PM

Hello

Well i'm currently actually in college for IT, but IT is large and it has many courses which doesn't interest me much, Programming is what really interests me. So i'm thinking to drop-out because I really don't want to go further anymore(btw it's my first year). So my question now is if I develop great skills in programming, can I get employed even though I don't have any degree?

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Could I be programmer without any degree?

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Could I be programmer without any degree?

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:51 PM

This question gets asked all the time. In short, yes. As a degree is a jump start of 'school based' experience, if you can show real-world experience with say an amazing portfolio. It comes down to you showing that you are the best candidate for the job. But if you are thinking about dropping out, be prepared to explain that for the first time to anywhere you interview. It doesn't really speak well to a long term commitment for employment.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:06 PM

Thanks a lot for the answer, it's good to know that a degree isn't actually required to get into the job I want :)

As for explaining, no problem I will.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 January 2015 - 05:12 PM