3 Replies - 207 Views - Last Post: 20 January 2015 - 08:20 PM

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Questions about a CS degree

Posted 20 January 2015 - 07:45 PM

So, I've actually been programming for about 10 years now. I've taught myself all I know, and I am actually a very talented programmer.. But, alas, I was recently laid off from my job, and since most employers in the world require some sort of degree in computer science, I have decided to try my hand at going to college for the first time. But, I have some questions...

You see, I'm trying to get the degree as fast as I possibly can.. The problem is that I haven't ever taken any prerequisite courses.. I have a child, and plan on finding another job in the near future, so I would like to take my courses 100% online. I'm not worried about having a teacher over my shoulder, as most of my courses will honestly be an "easy A", and I already know how to think like a programmer, etc...

I'd like to end up with a bachelors degree that will enable me to get a job in the computer programming industry. Whether it be business applications, or video game programming.. Is CS the right degree for that? Upon looking through about 100 different schools and all of their CS-related programs, it gets really confusing as to which program I should take. Not to mention, if I don't have the prerequisite courses, if I can even take them in the first place..

I guess my main question is, is there anyone on this site who has completed a bachelors degree in CS, in it's entirety, prerequisite courses and everything, completely online? Is there a school that offers this type of service? Please, by the grace of god, if there is, direct me to it, because this whole "going to college" thing has turned out to be pretty confusing and I've only been pursuing it for about an hour now lol.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Questions about a CS degree

• Dishonored
  • member icon

• View blog