• (2 Pages)
  • +

26 Replies - 4963 Views - Last Post: 05 May 2015 - 06:36 AM

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Payment for my work

Posted 27 February 2015 - 10:15 AM

The way I size up this situation : If you want the credibility, if I'm reading this correctly he already has contracts setup & can release the game. So it's going to go further with his setup than if you released it on your own. Assuming the game is published you will have your name in the credits of a published game. On top of that you are getting 20% of what it makes.

Or you run with it yourself. Which I assume you have no experience with any of that.

Being that you've already done the work, I would take the 20%, take the published credit, & move on. Let him do what he can do with it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• It's a 16-Bit World!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 February 2015 - 10:32 AM

Yeah, I have no experience whatsoever with marketing and stuff..

So yeah, I guess your idea is the best one.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 February 2015 - 10:38 AM

View Postaresh, on 27 February 2015 - 12:32 PM, said:

Yeah, I have no experience whatsoever with marketing and stuff..

& on-top of no experience, do you have a desire to learn marketing? What about legally selling the game? What if someone steals your game & then sues you for it (think Candy Crush)? If you have no desire to learn or execute in that realm, then that's what his 80% covers. You could have a multi-million dollar product. Doesn't amount to squat if you give away the source code with no way of marketing that traffic into dollars :)

Really, the only penalty I see here is you admitted to not wanting money up-front, with the notion of discussing it later. As such, you are not getting screwed over out-right, you just lost 30% due to miscommunication. It could be far, far worse.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -