Why is PHP being made fun of?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 2342 Views - Last Post: 04 March 2015 - 07:31 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Why is PHP being made fun of?

Posted 01 March 2015 - 06:48 AM

I'm just learning PHP in my Web Programming class. Reading up articles on different languages, PHP seems to be the butt of memes and jokes.

I'm just curious as to why?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why is PHP being made fun of?

• Enhance Your Calm
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Why is PHP being made fun of?

Posted 01 March 2015 - 07:32 AM

PHP is in a group of wildly successful languages; languages used on a massive scale. But among that group, it is one of the more different. Those that specialize in the others - especially those from the more traditional strongly-typed OOP based languages (Java, .NET, C++) - like to consider themselves above PHP developers, and as such tend to band together to bash PHP whenever they get a chance.

That's not to say some of the things they say aren't valid; PHP definitely has it's issues.

However the memes and the random bashing is usually just down to good old fashion school-yard bullying; making themselves feel superior by making the most different kid on the playground look inferior.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 March 2015 - 10:11 AM

I love php :D haters gonna hate I guess!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• lashings of ginger beer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 March 2015 - 10:23 AM

I like PHP ;)

wikipedia

PHP is a server-side scripting language designed for web development but also used as a general-purpose programming language.