2 Replies - 1091 Views - Last Post: 09 April 2015 - 12:18 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to go about securing your software from being sued?

Posted 03 March 2015 - 09:48 PM

I'm not 100% sure as to were this topic needs to be so if it needs to be move, please do so !

Anyways, I'm currently a student a some private university in California, USA. I'm working on my Bachelor for Electrical Engineering, however, i have design and programmed a GUI for IT students, etc. I want to be able to expand my software in hopes to one day as a side job create a business of it. I'm not entirely looking to become millionaire in 1 year or anything of that sort. I just want to protect my software and be able to commercialize it without getting any problems down the road especially with big money.

So my question is this, how can i document my code, when i mean document i'm refering as to "when did i code it, were" on what machine, etc". I talked to the director at my campus, and he mention that as long as i didnt program it during school hours, on school ground or with school resources, it is 100% my work. However, that is just his word and not a statement clarifing that any work a student creates its their and not the schools.

Why am i asking myself all these questions, well i realize that a lot of well known software company are college drop outs, i was wondering if they dropped out because of law issues within the school.