7 Replies - 1488 Views - Last Post: 20 April 2015 - 06:12 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Better to know a little of everything or concentrate on small area?

Posted 19 April 2015 - 03:18 PM

Good evening,

I'm self-taught programmer. Started doing this 3 years ago, I tried Java, then web development technologies such as html/css, javascript, php a bit.
Lately I started to think that I need to concentrate on a one thing. I would like to ask is it a good idea talking about freelancing? And for example, does web development would be concrete enough? Or I should break down into creating server side scripts with php, or learning about security?

This post has been edited by nomoremercy: 19 April 2015 - 03:19 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Better to know a little of everything or concentrate on small area?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Better to know a little of everything or concentrate on small area?

Posted 19 April 2015 - 03:34 PM

You should try your best to master one or two languages and then have working knowledge in a few others. You want to be effective in the languages that really are in demand but know enough of others that if the job you have requires it you can do what needs to be done. The web is really one of those areas where you can't get away with just knowing HTML and CSS anymore. You really do have to know at least HTML/CSS and Javascript with at least one server side language you are a master in. But for instance you don't need to be a master in node.js or Laravel either. Just know enough of those to get by.

But definitely you want to master a couple core languages and then have knowledge of supporting languages that compliment them. Hopefully that is what you mean. It is said that a jack of all trades is a master of none. And in todays market, companies expect you to be a master of some and a jack of all trades in everything else.

:)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head