2 Replies - 2896 Views - Last Post: 15 November 2007 - 05:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

What is best, linked lists or hash tables?

Post icon  Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:08 PM

What is best, linked lists or hash tables?

I am not too experienced with the standard template library (STL) in C++. I am more experienced with Visual C++ and the Microsoft Foundation Class Library (MFC). I have heard some good things about STL. Is it ture that there is a ready-to-use linked list? Is there also a hash table?

What advantages would there be to writing one from scratch?

If I do go with MFC, what advantages are there?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What is best, linked lists or hash tables?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What is best, linked lists or hash tables?

Posted 14 November 2007 - 11:31 PM

Wow, a lot of questions here. So I guess I should get to work...

1) Which is better? As always it depends. Do remember though that they are slightly different. Hash tables are great for quick in memory indexing of values using a key. The keys are hashed and they are great for quickly accessing elements and one great use of them is for eliminating doubles from a list of values. Since a value is hashed to one key, any doubles overwrite the same spot thus eliminating them.

Linked lists are nodes which point to other nodes to form chains. They are great because they can often be used to chain big objects together using pointers, and you can usually take out a node from the chain quickly and efficiently. They are wonderful for theoretical search trees, binary trees etc.

2) Yes, STL has a list template class which takes advantage of a double-linked list. It also has a map which is similar to hash_map in functionality.