7 Replies - 801 Views - Last Post: 12 May 2015 - 12:15 PM

#1 pfar54  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 30-April 15

Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 06:12 AM

Hey guys,

I'm new to programming and am starting a very small eCommerce business. I'm designing my own checkout system and website along the way in an attempt to learn programming. I purchased Authorize.net's merchant gateway service last night and I am completely confused on how to integrate this. It seemed pretty simple when the sales rep explained it to me, but looking over everything, I'm lost.

I created the sandbox account as their tutorial said. I will be using the AIM model as I want to use my own checkout system. I'm writing in php. I have all of the required areas that they require (CC #, CVV, expiration date, Billing name, address). The part I'm really confused on is where to put the SDK and if I need it? I tried looking up what it was in terms of this application and I didn't find much or anything on it.

I'm also confused as to where to put to API code in my checkout page.

I'm sure this is most likely very easy for most people, but I'm new to all of this and have been teaching myself everything without any guidance. I really want to do this mostly myself as it will help me learn. I just don't really know how to integrate this. If anyone can offer some guidance or advise, I would truly be very grateful. I'm not sure if anyone needs to see my code to answer generic questions, but if you do just let me know and I'll post the relevant code.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Integrating Authorize.net

#2 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3700
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,171
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 06:42 AM

Quote

I'm sure this is most likely very easy for most people

no. I have done PayPal integration and it was anything except "very easy".

Quote

I really want to do this mostly myself as it will help me learn.

be aware though that when it comes to real money, customers tend to be quite tense. no-one likes losing money just because of a stupid coding mistake.

I recommend to use unit tests before you deploy anything.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 pfar54  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 30-April 15

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 07:30 AM

I agree, I want this to be as safe as possible. I have created the test account, I'm just not sure how to structure the code.

By me saying this is most likely easy for most people. I mean a lot easier than it is for me
Everything I've read said it wasn't too hard. I guess I'm just not at the point yet.

Ideally I want to do this myself, but may pay someone if I can't figure it out.

Any help will be greatly appreciated though. I'm really at a loss with this one and don't know where to start.

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 12 May 2015 - 07:32 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 10234
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,371
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 07:42 AM

There is an over abundance of help, tutorials, etc.

Example:

http://developer.aut...fifteenminutes/
http://developer.aut...ode/php_sim.zip
http://www.authorize...tingstarted.pdf
http://www.johnconde...m-api-with-php/
http://developer.aut...ads/samplecode/
http://developer.authorize.net/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 pfar54  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 30-April 15

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 11:39 AM

I saw most of the examples you gave me, but I'm confused on how to make it work with mine or where to start. It seems like the first step is to create a config or SDK file? I understand what a config file is, but I'm not sure what to put in it.

Every example I see is giving a required file, but I do not know where to acquire that from.

I know how sensitive this is, so I'm trying to learn everything about it and how to do it, so it is secure. Sorry if these are dumb questions. I just want it to be right.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 10234
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,371
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 11:48 AM

I think one of those was a link to a sample php file they provide. Have you just tried to tinker with that sample file to get it working before you try and integrate it with what ever you are doing?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 pfar54  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 30-April 15

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 12:12 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 12 May 2015 - 11:48 AM, said:

I think one of those was a link to a sample php file they provide. Have you just tried to tinker with that sample file to get it working before you try and integrate it with what ever you are doing?



no, I haven't because I don't know what to do with the SDK part of it or where to get the config/require file.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 10234
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,371
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Integrating Authorize.net

Posted 12 May 2015 - 12:15 PM

How about you unpack the sample file and look at it. If that is their test doc to show what is complete or not then I would start looking there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1