2 Replies - 1179 Views - Last Post: 19 May 2015 - 04:34 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

build a file .hs (haskell)

Posted 19 May 2015 - 03:29 AM

Hi, i'm new in functional programing, and also in haskell , i'm having a probleme with call of functions, i'm using GHCI version 7.8.3 on windows 8, i create a file fct.hs and put it in bin ( C:\Program Files\Haskell Platform\2014.2.0.0\bin), my question is : to call the function should i just write the commande :l fct ? or do i have to somthing before that? i found this commande to build the file : ghc --make name.hs ,but in unix, and if in windows name.exe ; i dont get it; should i write ghc --make name.exe or directly name.exe, what im i doing wrong?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: build a file .hs (haskell)

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: build a file .hs (haskell)

Posted 19 May 2015 - 04:05 AM

View Postabir_fragrance, on 19 May 2015 - 12:29 PM, said:

i create a file fct.hs and put it in bin ( C:\Program Files\Haskell Platform\2014.2.0.0\bin)

You shouldn't put your source files in the Haskell installation directory. It shouldn't hurt anything, but it just doesn't make any sense (especially since I imagine you need admin rights to write in that directory). Usually you'd put your source code somewhere in your home folder.

to call the function should i just write the commande :l fct ?

To call that function from ghci, you need to make sure that you're in the right directory (either by starting ghci from that directory or by using :cd inside ghci), then use :l fct and then actually call the function you want to call (by writing fact 5 for example, depending on what the name of the function is and with which argument you want to call it).

i found this commande to build the file : ghc --make name.hs ,but in unix, and if in windows name.exe ; i dont get it; should i write ghc --make name.exe or directly name.exe, what im i doing wrong?