2 Replies - 300 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2015 - 07:13 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Starting New Project Give a Newbie Some Advice

Posted 26 June 2015 - 03:04 PM

Hello fellow coders,

I'm pretty new to Python and am looking to develop a large scale project that focuses on training user about a complicated topic (think many math examples like calculus transformations, etc...)

I want this program to have multiple features:
1) User log in to track progress
2) ability to show graphs and charts and charts moving with different equations
3) take user input
4) Use multiple different modules of code to organize my project better

So I tried this project before and I was writing it with Tkinter and had a massive module with all my code in there. When I came back to the project I realized that this was a mess.

Any advice on how I can organize, how I can organize multiple areas of code, what I should develop it in, etc..

Also, I want to include learning videos in this as well if that matters

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Starting New Project Give a Newbie Some Advice

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Starting New Project Give a Newbie Some Advice

Posted 26 June 2015 - 03:50 PM

Well it sounds like your only problem was that you had spaghetti code and put everything in a massive module. Break it up, little modules designed to be self contained and focused on doing one thing and doing it well is the best way to go. I recommend books along the lines of "Clean Code" and "Code Complete 2" which are not really so much language based, but are great for learning the proper way to "DESIGN" great programs. Organization of code is the key to large projects.

As for what you could develop it in, Python and Tkinter are fine choices. Just make sure you follow the good design software development principles and you should be ok. Python will handle all those features you listed and more. It is a great language.