Python installing and use

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

33 Replies - 2383 Views - Last Post: 23 July 2015 - 09:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 01:20 AM

Hi there every body I'm new to the forum.

I've been building a Hexapod robot and using the sequencer that came with my board but the sequencer is limited in what it can do but the board can also be coded using c++ and other coding. I would like to use the NUKE program but I'm having some problems. I installed the latest and matching versions of Python, pserial, and WXpython. Then I downloaded and opened the file from the Google repository and downloaded the latest nuke from the github site.

When I go into all programs on widows and then choose Python27 I get these choices.

Idle (Python GUI)--- brings up Python 2.7.10 shell
Module docs-----goes to an HTML page
Python command line----brings up dos prompt
Python manuals
Unistall Python

In the Python 27 folder I get two applications

Python.exe brings up dos prompt from start menu

Pythonw--------does nothing.

I've tried clicking on the .Py files from the github Downloads and all they do is bring up a small dos prompt and disappearing before it can be read.

I'm kinda lost here. I'm new to this and don't understand what I'm doing. I just want to use NUKE.

Any help would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Python installing and use

#2 ndc85430  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,482
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 02:32 AM

It sounds like you've not done any Python programming before, so you're going to want to at least go through a tutorial, learn the basics and write your own small programs before trying to do anything more complicated. If you try to use some API without really understanding the language first, you're likely to find it quite difficult and will probably get quite frustrated.

I'm assuming by NUKE, you mean this. They have a developer guide for Python, so I'd begin by reading that (once you're done with the above, of course).

This post has been edited by ndc85430: 19 July 2015 - 02:36 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 12:54 PM

Sorry no that's not what I'm talking about. What I mean is the Python "Nearly universal kinematics Editor (nuke) or PyPose. Here's a pic of the screen shot.

Posted Image

I followed the instructions found here...

http://vanadiumlabs.github.io/arbotix/

Athe bottom of the Orange section it talks about PyPose set up you install 3 different files and then it says....

Put the PyPose software in an easy to use location, and start pypose.py to run PyPose.

I'm not worried to much about the coding right now. I just want to know how to run the applets like the one shown above.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 ndc85430  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,482
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 12:57 PM

So, just run

python pypose.py


at the command line.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 01:17 PM

Lol!!! I don't know how. Not trying to be smart but that's why I'm asking. I've been online two days now reading a bunch of vaguery but I'm getting no where.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 ndc85430  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,482
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 01:19 PM

1. Open a command line window (you're calling it a "DOS prompt")
2. Change to the directory containing pypose.py
3. Type "python pypose.py" (minus quotes, of course)
4. Press Enter
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 02:27 PM

Apparently I don't know how to do that either. I have tried "cd c:\Users" and many other ways to change the directory and always get a syntax error. Either underthe " : " or under the c.

Here's a couple screen shots of the command line and what it's doing.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Also when I type dir I get <built-in function dir> instead of a list of what's in the file or folder or what ever.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 andrewsw  Icon User is offline

  • the case is sol-ved
  • member icon

Reputation: 6379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 25,770
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 02:43 PM

That isn't the standard Windows Command Window (Command Prompt), it's a Python Command Window - look at the address in the title-bar. (There are other names for it: Python Interactive Shell.) The prompt >>> also tells you that it is a Python window.

Click the Start button and type "Command Prompt" (depending on your version of Windows).

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 19 July 2015 - 03:03 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 03:40 PM

Do what???!!!! I thought I was supposed to start Python .py files in the Python command prompt?

When I go to start and type in command prompt I get a dos prompt screen in c. I followed the path to the .py file I want to use "PyPose.py" and I get this message

Traceback <most recent call last>:
File "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\pypose-master\pypose.py",line 24,in <module>
ImportError: no module named wx
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 andrewsw  Icon User is offline

  • the case is sol-ved
  • member icon

Reputation: 6379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 25,770
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 03:46 PM

View PostDuhjoker, on 19 July 2015 - 10:40 PM, said:

Do what???!!!! I thought I was supposed to start Python .py files in the Python command prompt?

It is possible to execute a script from the Python prompt, but it is a little more effort than from a standard command prompt.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#11 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 04:44 PM

Ok that makes since thank you.

Ok so I decided to unistall all programs and then re-installed them into C:\python27 just to make things easier. I then put the Arbotix files in the Python27 folder along with the Nuke editor files found on the github site for vanadium labs. This is what happens now when I type in PyPose.py




Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 ndc85430  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,482
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 19 July 2015 - 10:29 PM

Have you looked at, e.g. this?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 20 July 2015 - 01:42 PM

Ok I did some reading on the link you posted. Foundry Nuke is a set of programs and that are used in the film making process for special effects and animation and so on. It it derives its name from "New Composite" and has been used with movies created by ILM, dream works and so on. It does have a recently added feature allowing some users to use Python script. But this program and sets of extras are for making and editing movies.

I am not making a movie. I am trying to code a robot using the Pyhton "Nearly Universal Kinematics Engine" this program when the parameters are set runs an algorithm that allows four legged and six legged bots move in a naturalistic manner.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 ndc85430  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,482
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 20 July 2015 - 09:11 PM

I posted two different links. Have you looked at the second one, or otherwise googled the problem you're having?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Duhjoker  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 19-July 15

Re: Python installing and use

Posted 20 July 2015 - 10:07 PM

Oops sorry when clicked that link earlier it took me to the first link.

I think I'm having trouble with Pyserial. I looked and I have WXpython 3.0 for 2.7 64 bit version. But the pyserial file is pyserial2.7.win32_p3k. And I can't find a 64bit version.

Also I have no idea what version I have of Python27. I just downloaded the latest version. And I can't find any version info for it and wether or or not it's a 64bit program.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3