12 Replies - 230 Views - Last Post: 28 July 2015 - 02:44 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Mmo game engine and or programming language

Posted 28 July 2015 - 06:45 AM

Greetings

I have a question, I will first lay down the situation.

My expertise is based on 15 years of online marketing and website development. The website development is reduced to using CMS's and modifying extensions, plugins, etc. Although I have a programming diploma, I have never practiced coding too much, so my knowledge is basic, I forgot a lot of things I have learned back then.

What I want to achieve.

I want to move into mmo text-based games, and see how things go. I want to create a medieval mmorpg game. I live medieval history, and I don't see any medieval text-based game that offers what I want to achieve. I know the games in the niche, and they are pretty restricted as game play. I want to make it text-based because my knowledge is limited now, and I also want to target people that want to play it a bit at work, a bit on the road, etc. A game that requires download or extended graphics might be an issue. I have to expertise to market it, I have the ideas, a framework to work on, but I have no idea where to start in terms of programming or game engines to use.

An example of game in the niche, somehow similar to what I want to do, but yet far away on what I want to offer:
http://www.renaissancekingdoms.com

A very rough resume on the game ideas:

Religions entities - Kingdoms entities > Non affiliated organizations entities
Pope will have the same same power as the kings. Leaders of NAO will have the power granted by the money they make, relations they have, etc.

Alliance entity > Kingdoms entities > Regions entities > Cities entities
Alliance leaders > Kings and queens > Nobles, vassals and stuff > Regular people > NPC characters like peasants, regular soldiers, etc.