1 Replies - 884 Views - Last Post: 01 August 2015 - 02:04 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to write a function from a definition?

Posted 31 July 2015 - 04:52 AM

Hi,

First off, I would like to make you all aware that I'm very new to Haskell, so to increase knowledge etc, I've been trying out questions and I'm pretty stuck on one. I think I'm nearly there but some more experienced advice would be appreciated. Here's the question:

A sporting team is represented by it's name and the amount of points they scored in their last games like so ("Newcastle",[3,3,3,0]). This data is modelled by the type definitions:

type TName = String
      type Points = [Int]
      type Team = (TName,Points)

From this I have to define the following function that orders one team higher than another if their points sum is greater:

sortPoints :: [Team] -> [Team]

This is what I've tried:

sortPoints [_,()] -> []
    sortPoints [_,(x:xs)] -> sum[x|x<-xs]

Once I get to here, I'm not too sure how to go about adding the conditions to check the points sum, any pointers would be greatly appreciated as I'm still coming to terms with a lot of Haskell features.

Thanks for your time.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to write a function from a definition?

• spelling expret
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to write a function from a definition?

Posted 01 August 2015 - 02:04 AM

sortPoints [_,()] -> []
sortPoints [_,(x:xs)] -> sum[x|x<-xs]

This code won't even compile for so many reasons. It just doesn't even make sense. I'm not sure I consider this a full faith effort. It looks as though you just threw some Haskell looking symbols together and hoped for the best. That is far from an effective way to program.