1 Replies - 2928 Views - Last Post: 27 November 2007 - 12:23 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Uploading dynamic data from website forms to Excel

Posted 25 November 2007 - 01:17 PM

Hi - I have a working PHP script for emailing me each contact enquiry from my website which I am now expanding within DW to accomodate dynamic entries to populate a directory from the website. I think this is OK - but what I cannot find anywhere is help with dynamic population of an excel spreadsheet with this data uploaded using a PHP script.

Can this be done? Is Excel open to dynamic entries and does excel have to reside on the server for this? (see - I'm a newbie and coding was a long time ago for me!)

Ideally I'd like the directory to be populated automatically from user entries on the website, send a thank you email automatically and be visible and searchable on the website for anyone whilst being editable by me as admin for removing any entries that aren't suitable manually. I'd also like to deploy it in a widget.

The reason I'd like to upload to excel is because my server only has mysql version 3.x (really out-of-date) and I want a format for the data to be usable in any database right now as I haven't chosen the DB I will use ultimatley.

Thanks for any help and pointers. The code shown here is only for the online form, emailing me each query and is still WIP ....
Martini

<form action="contactform.php" method="post" name="AGContactForm" id="AGContactForm">
		<p><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>Name</strong></font></p>
		<p><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong> 
		  <input name="name" type="text" id="name">
		  </strong></font></p>
		<p><strong><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Company</font></strong></p>
		<p><strong><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"> 
		  <input name="company" type="text" id="company">
		  </font></strong></p>