Difference in diplomas.

• (3 Pages)
  • +

31 Replies - 1936 Views - Last Post: 29 September 2015 - 04:31 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Difference in diplomas.

Posted 22 September 2015 - 07:39 AM

I don't understand is there a difference between computer engineering, programming engineering and computer science diploma. For example, I want to apply for a job as a php developer, one of the requirements is a diploma in CS. So if I have a diploma in computer engineering the company will not want to hire me because of that? Or these diplomas are the same? Please help me to understand.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Difference in diplomas.

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Difference in diplomas.

Posted 22 September 2015 - 07:49 AM

Where are they coming out of?

Computer engineering is a discipline that integrates several fields of electrical engineering and computer science required to develop computer hardware and software
https://en.wikipedia...ter_engineering

Software engineering is the study and an application of engineering to the design, development, and maintenance of software.
https://en.wikipedia...are_engineering

Computer science is the scientific and practical approach to computation and its applications.
https://en.wikipedia...omputer_science

in short:
CE - programming and electrical bits
SE - Software bits
CS - science of computer bits.

Depending on what classes you take I doubt a php job would blink too much at SE or CS.. typically php/web is minimal in CE so.. again.. it depends on your classes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 22 September 2015 - 07:57 AM

So, computer engineering diploma is more general. But why most companies require a diploma only in CS? Is that mean that they do not want applicants with diplomas in other fields, like computer or programming engineering? Or these diplomas are also OK for them?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2