Page 1 of 1

Tutorial to submit a form and then access those form attributes Rate Topic: -----

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 September 2015 - 08:20 AM

View Postatraub, on 25 September 2015 - 10:16 AM, said:

I'd love a very simple tutorial for submitting a form and then accessing those form attributes server side. We use ColdFusion at my office and I'm still learning :smartass:/>/>

If you're familiar with HTML forms then you know 90% of what you need to know to access form values server side from a form submission.

For the purposes of this example (not really a tutorial because the subject is probably too short for such) we'll have 2 CFM pages: form.cfm and formReceiver.cfm. Below is form.cfm:
<form name="testForm" id="testForm_ID" action="formReceiver.cfm">
	<input type="hidden" name="formVar1" id="formVar1_ID" value="this 1">
	<input type="text" name="formVar2" id="formVar2_ID" value="this 2">
	<input type="Submit" name="formSubmit" id="formSubmit_ID" value="Send">
</form>

Nothing special, right? Almost exactly like a regular HTML form page. The differences are that we are specifying submission to a .cfm page in the form tag's action attribute (formReceiver.cfm) and that I have given each form element a name AND an ID (will be handy to note this later). So, bringing up this form, you see a text input field with the prefilled value of "test 2" and a Submit button labeled as "Send". You also have a hidden form field with a value of "this 1". Pressing the "Send" button submits the form to the formReceiver.cfm page which is shown below:
<cfdump var="#form#">