6 Replies - 926 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2015 - 06:02 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C-Sharp - Writing Methods(I'm a noob)

Posted 04 October 2015 - 01:20 PM

Hey guys.

I'm 100% new to programming and I recently started learning C# at my uni using Visual Studio 2015, and I have some issues understanding methods fully. I've tried looking up info and looking at videos for better understanding but apparently I have a thick skull.

So, I understand what methods are and what they do, but the problem is making my own. I'm having a hard time understanding the difference between ref/out parameters when using the void datatype/keyword, and whether to use void with parameters or int/double/string or whatever.

Now, I've read about the difference between ref/out but I still haven't found someone who put it simplisticly, in a way that I can assert myself which one would be better for the relevant problem.

MY second problem; when writing a method using a return value(?), as in not using void - how do I know what datatype to use for the method itself and the parameters?

This is really confusing to me. And I apologize beforehand as I probably sound like an idiot - but hey, I only just started learning this a little over a month ago.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C-Sharp - Writing Methods(I'm a noob)

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• say what now
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C-Sharp - Writing Methods(I'm a noob)

Posted 04 October 2015 - 02:13 PM

Try not to mingle everything together. void is straightforward, it just states the the method won't return a value:
public void SampleMethod()
{
    // Body of the method.
    // optionally..
    return;    // no value returned
}

This is its only use (ignoring "void is also used in an unsafe context to declare a pointer to an unknown type" mentioned in the link for the moment).