8 Replies - 633 Views - Last Post: 06 October 2015 - 07:24 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Display & Record Data Stings in C# Form

Posted 05 October 2015 - 10:14 AM

Hello,

I am new to C# and trying to create a windows based application that records information / data from a device that displays weight readings. I plan to connect via Ethernet TCP/IP to retrieve the data from my device. My questions is: How do I go about displaying the actual weight reading in my Form? The idea is to have a print key in the application that an operator would press to capture the weight and then record it to a MS database. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Display & Record Data Stings in C# Form

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Display & Record Data Stings in C# Form

Posted 05 October 2015 - 10:21 AM

The problem here is that all you have an idea. A "what I want to do". What's your programming background? How much C# do you know? Does the device already support the mechanism you want to communicate on?

There's so many open questions at this stage. Without knowing what kind of device at the very least, we literally have no advice we can give. You're not there yet.

Here's how I deal with new projects: I break them down into their various parts and try to prove them individually. Then I work to put them together.

The real "meat" of your problem is going to be reading from your device on command. So, start by making a simple console application that reads from the device when run, then prints the results to a console screen.

Then mock up a UI. Don't worry about making all the parts work, just learn how to use WPF or Windows Forms or ASP.NET (depending on which tech you choose).

Once you know about UIs and you've been able to get the values from your device, it should be easy to put them together.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog