Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

when button clicked text is sent into the text box

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 3730 Views - Last Post: 04 December 2007 - 10:42 AM

#1 bmcc81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 312
  • Joined: 10-July 07

Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

Posted 29 November 2007 - 10:31 AM

Hi,

I'm trying to load text into a dynamic text box from a button.

on (release) {
_root.container2.galleryBox.loadMovie("gallery/pic1.swf", galleryBox, 2);
_level0.titlebmcc.text("Home For The holidays");
}



I thought all it was to find the path and then add .text("The text you want inside");

Thanks in advance :ph34r:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

#2 theRemix  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 15
  • View blog
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 19-October 05

Re: Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

Posted 29 November 2007 - 10:47 AM

View Postbmcc81, on 29 Nov, 2007 - 10:31 AM, said:

Hi,

I'm trying to load text into a dynamic text box from a button.

on (release) {
_root.container2.galleryBox.loadMovie("gallery/pic1.swf", galleryBox, 2);
_level0.titlebmcc.text("Home For The holidays");
}



I thought all it was to find the path and then add .text("The text you want inside");

Thanks in advance :ph34r:


try assigning .text to a string instead

on (release) {
_root.container2.galleryBox.loadMovie("gallery/pic1.swf", galleryBox, 2);
_level0.titlebmcc.text = "Home For The holidays";
}

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 DilutedImage  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 646
  • Joined: 20-November 06

Re: Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

Posted 29 November 2007 - 12:06 PM

theRemix is correct. text is a property of the TextField class, rather than a function.

This post has been edited by DilutedImage: 29 November 2007 - 12:06 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 bmcc81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 312
  • Joined: 10-July 07

Re: Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

Posted 04 December 2007 - 09:51 AM

View PostDilutedImage, on 29 Nov, 2007 - 12:06 PM, said:

theRemix is correct. text is a property of the TextField class, rather than a function.

Thanks Guys,

Do you also know a way to do wordwrap. So that If I load a bunch of text it just doesn't continue off the screen forever?

I tried multiline but it didn't seem to work. Am I mising something.

Thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 DilutedImage  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 646
  • Joined: 20-November 06

Re: Loading TITLE text into Dynamic text box's

Posted 04 December 2007 - 10:42 AM

When creating your textfield, rather than simply clicking, click and drag a box around the area you want text. You will then be able to drag it to whatever size you want. .. If you've already created the fields, then you can convert them by clicking on the shape (square or circle) in the top-right corner of it (when the text is selected). It's been a while since I've converted any fields, so I don't recall if any hotkeys need to be held while clicking.

Once you've got a resizeable field, you will also be able to control it's size numerically from within the Properties pane.

This post has been edited by DilutedImage: 04 December 2007 - 10:43 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1