Using Ruby ?Function? to Ping an IP Range

Help coding a Ruby Script to ping a Windows network IP range and outpu

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 17856 Views - Last Post: 11 February 2011 - 03:24 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Using Ruby ?Function? to Ping an IP Range

Post icon  Posted 29 November 2007 - 03:44 PM

I'm looking to write a short Ruby script to ping all of my Windows network IP addresses and output the results of whether or not the computers responded into a text file. I am new to Ruby :crazy: and would very much appreciate all the help I can get. I am looking to achieve this on a Windows based network with ruby installed on the server that executes the script I don't see any reason why this would not be possible. Please let me know otherwise. Thank You very much in advance. :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Using Ruby ?Function? to Ping an IP Range

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Using Ruby ?Function? to Ping an IP Range

Posted 29 November 2007 - 06:18 PM

well you can use the pingecho method in the ruby library.
Here is a small snippet of code that will help:
require 'ping'

puts Ping.pingecho('localhost', 5) # should print true if it can ping the server

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 November 2007 - 10:11 PM

Ok, this gives me a some ideas. Thank You. I'm having trouble finding good references when I'm looking for information on the syntax for pinging multiple computers with an IP range Ping. Is it possible to Ping a range (I.E. 192.168.1.1-250) of IP addresses with Ruby code? Any further elaboration and code examples of how to execute this would be much appreciated. Thanks so much in advance. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 November 2007 - 01:28 AM