5 Replies - 606 Views - Last Post: 15 November 2015 - 04:59 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Resourcing a third party DLL - how to do this

Posted 15 November 2015 - 02:13 PM

I'm trying to access a DLL that was made for use with C#.
I know it should be possible to use this DLL in vb.net too, but since I have little experience in vb.net (just recently stepped over from vb6) I have no clue what is wrong.

For reference, the DLL that I try to use from a project called vJoy found here: http://vjoystick.sourceforge.net/site/

What I do manage to do is add the DLL as resource, after this VB.net seems to recognize all objects related to this dll.
But as soon as I access it during runtime, VB.net throws an error saying the DLL can not be found. I tried loading the file as an existing component so that VB.net would include at the location of my binary, but still this error occurs.

Can anyone help me out how to set up this dll so I can start porting the code to access the DLL from C# to vb.net.

If anyone needs the DLL's and or the documentation then please ask. But they can be found at the soundforge site aswell in the SDK download. And in case you wonder, its a 'feeder' that I'm trying to set up. So I need the 'vJoyInterfaceWrap.dll'.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Resourcing a third party DLL - how to do this

• Custom Control Freak
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Resourcing a third party DLL - how to do this

Posted 15 November 2015 - 02:44 PM

From what i see, vJoy is a device driver and it needs to be installed on the computer, did you do that?

Being it is a 3rd party library, you should try the links below to see about getting help with it first. The first link is a support forum for vJoy where you can ask questions about it and the second link is to contact the author of the library.

http://vjoystick.sou.../2-support/list

http://vjoystick.sou...p/contact-form1