7 Replies - 623 Views - Last Post: 18 November 2015 - 05:41 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How is math implemented in game design and when will I use it?

Posted 17 November 2015 - 06:49 PM

So I just started learning computer programming, I've learned all the basics in java and am looking forward to start designing my own games. However I am new to game design and was wondering when will I use stuff like, linear algebra per se? I am assuming a matrix is used in a double array? How does linear algebra actually work. Is it possible that I can do this without linear algebra?

I am usually a strong math student and I can see how statistic, calculus, and physics are used in game design, but not linear algebra. I'll be honest, linear algebra was somewhat difficult for me to grasp. I understand a lot of things but at the same time I have some holes...and I don't know how to fix or solve these...I would receive help a lot but I never really understood the methods to actually solving some linear algebra problems.

Are there ways to avoid some designs without linear algebra? For example, if I notice a specific pattern and know how something is supposed to work, will I be okay?

Also, do you learn these things when you have a job? Did you understand these math theories better on the job or is it the same as when you were in class.

My last question is, I am sure since you are on the job there are always people to ask, there has to be a physicist in the job to help with game design and similarly there has to be some game designers you can always ask for help...so are you necessarily screwed if you don't know?

I am strong in math, just for some reason linear algebra was kind of tricky.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How is math implemented in game design and when will I use it?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How is math implemented in game design and when will I use it?