4 Replies - 2691 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2007 - 06:35 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Python objects and persistence

Post icon  Posted 02 December 2007 - 07:28 PM

Hi all -

I'm new to Python but not entirely new to programming, having dabbled in AMOS Basic years and years ago. OOP is new to me, although I'm definitely very happy about the idea!

What I'm trying to do is write a program to handle clients, employees and job schedules for my business. I figure it'll take me months and teach me to program along the way.

Right now I'm trying to figure out what I'm going to do about object persistence. I see that every aspect of my data could be a class - clients, employees, appointments, job types, full days, etc. And I also see that it would be useful to embed objects in each other, like embedding appointment objects within client objects, employee objects and day objects - and also having the embedded object contain its container, for instance an appointment object contains an employee object, which in turn contains an appointment object. Am I still on solid ground here, or are things getting shaky?

I can get to grips with the idea of these circular references when the objects are in memory, but what happens to references like this when I pickle them? A composite object is obviously not the complete physical representation of its definition, since this would lead to infinities when objects reference each other in a circular fashion. But what should I be thinking about when it comes to making these object structures persistent?

I've been idly looking at things like ZODB and SQLAlchemy and my head has become discombobulated. I really need to be able to store objects in a way that remembers how they are connected to each other, and I need to be able to do searches by attribute, too. I don't believe that the regular Python shelve is adequate for this, so any advice would be much appreciated!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +