if condition, multiple options

• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 2339 Views - Last Post: 02 March 2016 - 08:07 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

if condition, multiple options

Posted 18 December 2015 - 03:57 AM

I've been programming for a few years, and something that is becoming tedious, is looking for different values, of the same variable. See below
if(myString == "Derp" || myString == "Rawr" || myString == "Blargh")
{
 // something
}

Why isn't there an easier way!? I mean, I know I can do a list
List<string> myStrings = new List<string>()
{
 "Derp",
 "Rawr",
 "Blargh",
};

if(myStrings.Contains(myString))
{
 // still something
}

But that's not what I want! I want something more like this
if(myString.Equals("Derp", "Rawr", "Blargh"))
{
 // definitely still something
}

I know I can make an extension method for strings, but this problem reaches out from more than strings, and I feel like Microsoft should have something for this. Maybe something in C# 6.0? I don't know.. Just wanted to rant, and see what others thought..

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: if condition, multiple options

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• lashings of ginger beer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: if condition, multiple options

Posted 18 December 2015 - 04:46 AM

If you will only need the list once then you can do this:
    if ((new string[] { "Bob", "Ted", "Fred" }).Contains("Fred")) {
        Console.WriteLine("it does");
    }

but you aren't gaining much other than reducing the character count and, some would say, reducing clarity/maintainability.

I might use this in preference to your first code block, but maybe not the second.

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 18 December 2015 - 04:50 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 December 2015 - 05:02 AM