• (2 Pages)
  • +

23 Replies - 1925 Views - Last Post: 25 January 2016 - 09:06 AM

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Maintaining C++ code that uses MFC

Posted 07 January 2016 - 08:01 AM

I'm maintaining a C++ program that uses MFC classes. I am not a MFC programmer and know enough C++ to do updates and debugging.
I am using VS2005 to make updates. I distribute the dlls and .exe file via a zip file that users download and unzip to use the program. The zip is about 4MB.
Some of the users have IDEs installed on their PCs. When they try to execute the code, they get an error about side-by-side configutation is wrong. That seems to be caused by a mismatched dll problem.

One user suggested I download VS2015 and use it for my changes. I downloaded and installed VS2015 and created a new version of the program that works on my PC (Win10 Pro with the IDE) but fails on my wife;'s PC (Win10 Pro without an IDE). The failure was due to 3 missing dlls in the mfc 140 series. I copied the 3 dlls from my PC to the program's folder on her PC and the program worked.

My question: Can I use VS2015 to generate a program that uses older versions of the MFC dlls? The PC without the IDE has MFC 100 series dlls in Windows\system32.

Is there a better place to ask this question?

Thanks,
Norm

This post has been edited by NormR: 07 January 2016 - 08:02 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Maintaining C++ code that uses MFC

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Maintaining C++ code that uses MFC

Posted 07 January 2016 - 08:11 AM

In VS you should have an option to click on references and have them 'copy local' or embed them.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 January 2016 - 08:18 AM