2 Replies - 917 Views - Last Post: 01 November 2017 - 07:48 PM

#1 NoYouDidnt  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 5
  • View blog
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 04-July 15

RAM problems

Posted 20 January 2016 - 10:34 PM

Hey. Recently built a new PC and it has been running fine for about 10 days until something happened tonight.

All out of a sudden I had a BSOD: KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE. After some confusion, I took all components out and installed them again one by one until I figured out what seems to be the problem:

If i have 2 RAM's installed simultaneously in the A1 B1 slots(which are recommened on ASUS MB (z710 in this case)) or A2 B2 for that matter, the motherboard BOOTING_DEVICE_LED will be red and the computer doesn't go any further than the "Enter del or f2 for UEFI".. If i click any of those buttons the screen just goes black.

Anyone know why this is, and is there a way to fix it? I have tried switching the RAM and I know that both of them work, they just don't work together (anymore). Should I demand a new motherboard? :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: RAM problems

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13554
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54,090
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: RAM problems

Posted 21 January 2016 - 08:30 AM

You swapped out the RAM sticks for different RAM and verified they worked in all slots?

Have you tried just using slots A1 and A2 or B1 and B2?

What is the RAM make and model?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 Radius Nightly  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 07-May 15

Re: RAM problems

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:48 PM

Tried Memtest? I dont think they are bad.
Compressed air and wipe out RAM slots... Then take one RAM stick and test it in each module, to confirm if some module are in bad condition. If you stick it to the bad slot, PC simply wont start.
Dont do it on alive machine, shut the power off, and again, press several times power on button to extract last atom of electricity before you play with RAM.
If this two sticks are different, not by capacity, but, different company, different architecture, different clocks, cycles, latency... be sure to underclock your CPU/chipset/everything-everything to match them, or simply dont use them together, specially not in dual channel.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1