11 Replies - 1672 Views - Last Post: 28 January 2016 - 10:27 AM

#1 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 10:28 AM

Hello, hopefully this is the appropriate forum for this question. There's a server at work that needs a key press to start up and this means I can't restart it remotely without someone there to press the key which gets in the way of administration. Is there any way I can change the server so it doesn't need a key press to boot up? Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Key press to continue booting

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13554
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54,090
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 10:29 AM

Maybe? It depends on what the key press is for, the server OS version, boot configuration, etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 10:34 AM

It's a Fujitsu Siemens Econel 200 S2 running Windows Server 2012 r2. When the server boots up it says something like press F1 to continue or F2 to open options.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13554
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54,090
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 10:38 AM

You don't have the full message?

Having to have a key press on reboot is not typical behavior. Depending what it is asking you should be able to root around in the boot bios bits and see what's up.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 11:20 AM

I'll have to find a moment tomorrow when the server's not in use to get you the full message. It's sort of like this image http://cdn2.pcadviso...s-which-key.jpg.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13554
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54,090
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 11:25 AM

Example of options to fix:
http://www.wallpaper...-boot-t482.html
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 26 January 2016 - 02:59 PM

Thanks very much, I'll try it tomorrow morning.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 27 January 2016 - 05:37 AM

Tried it just now, I couldn't find a floppy drive entry in the boot list. I tried toggling some options that seemed related to floppy drives but nothing has worked yet.

The boot priority list looks like this.
1st boot device: CD/DVD
2nd boot device: SATA
3rd boot device: USB

The BIOS main page shows this:
Primary IDE Master: Hard Disk
Primary IDE Slave: Hard Disk
Secondary IDE Master: Hard Disk
Secondary IDE Slave: Not detected
Third IDE Master: ATAPI CD ROM
Third IDE Slave: Not detected
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 maceysoftware  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 350
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,500
  • Joined: 07-September 13

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 27 January 2016 - 05:45 AM

Don't you want Sata to be your first bootable drive? otherwise if anything is in the CD ROM that will boot first.

Can't see your bootable drives being the problem as long as nothing is in the CD/DVD Drive, but you could always switch them to see if it makes a difference.

also were you able to get the full error message now and have you told your bios to not halt on errors?

This post has been edited by maceysoftware: 27 January 2016 - 05:45 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Coding in the name of  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 67
  • View blog
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 28 January 2016 - 10:14 AM

Hi, forgot to make a note of the errors before. They were:
Non Fujitsu Siemens Memory Module detected - Warranty restricted
Secondary Master Drive - ATAPI Incompatible

But I found the option in BIOS to stop pausing on errors so the problem is solved. Thanks guys.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13554
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54,090
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 28 January 2016 - 10:20 AM

Ah.. I would highly advocate talking to your rep about those errors.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6559
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,699
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Key press to continue booting

Posted 28 January 2016 - 10:27 AM

lol, memory errors? No problem, just F1 past that. The integrity of processing on a server isn't important!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1