6 Replies - 2368 Views - Last Post: 27 January 2016 - 07:02 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Send a reset password request to e-mail from android

Posted 27 January 2016 - 06:08 AM

Hey guys, I'm new to android here :gun_bandana:

I have developed a login form (username,password and submit button) using a MySQL connection through php in my android application. Now I'm trying to send a password (stored in MySQL) to e-mail if user forgotten their password.

I've been searched for this for an hour but can't find a tutorial on this. Someone told that sending a password to e-mail is not advisable since it may be hacked by other users, use reset instead of recovery.

What are the best way to solve this ? Can someone give me a hints or some useful example for me to refer ? Thanks. :bananaman:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Send a reset password request to e-mail from android

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is online

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Send a reset password request to e-mail from android

Posted 27 January 2016 - 06:23 AM

The way I've always approached this in the past with PHP, is to not deal with the client side. Dealing only with pre-authenticated values, from the server flip some database values : validated from true to false, reset the password to junk, & then create a reset key/hash. Then send to the authenticated client email a URL with GET VALUES including the reset key/hash. Once they click that link, capture the IP, force them to create a new password, & then flip validated from false back to true. While validated is false, don't allow the account to login, which they won't be able to do anyhow, as their password is now garbage.