8 Replies - 1382 Views - Last Post: 12 July 2016 - 03:45 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Moving my career from php to Java, which frameworks should I learn?

Posted 15 March 2016 - 07:43 AM

I am currently working for a small company as a web developer. I landed this job about two months after I got my degree, about a year and a half ago. Before working here I had very limited experience with web development, I had only taken one class that covered HTML CSS and very little javascript, with no intro to php. However, I have learned and became very very comfortable using these languages. I have worked with a team to develop eCommerce websites, and multimedia website and a social networking site, and I created the instant chat client for that website using node.js and socket.io. That chat client is the project that makes me most proud. I also developed a Roku app that uses the same media as our multimedia site, it has 20k users, custom made UI with 4.5/5 star rating. I have experience with C# and Java from doing projects for college.

I also started learning Swift and objective-c the last 2 months because I was developing a app for my company to be placed on the new Apple Tv. However, now the company is talking about closing, and I haven't had a project to work on for work, so I have had 8 hours free to work on what I want 5 days a week for the past week now.