8 Replies - 843 Views - Last Post: 28 March 2016 - 12:58 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Database for beginner

Posted 16 March 2016 - 08:18 AM

Hey I'm a game programmer and interested in making my game multiplayer with a server.
What language should i learn and what programs will i need to run a server etc please help me out :)
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Database for beginner

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Database for beginner

Posted 16 March 2016 - 08:20 AM

What have you looked into or researched?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2016 - 08:22 AM

this is very vague-- however you're not really a game programmer without making a game?

lots of games store the info in sql servers or oracle however oracle blows so stay clear

game language? it all depends on the engine i am assuming
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2016 - 08:23 AM

Well i have been looking how to make a server bu they say i need webserver + dedi + sql server.
the problem is i don't know how any of these work. I don't know anything about servers
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2016 - 08:25 AM

"dedi "?

Multiplayer game servers vary due to the type of game being played.. so.. work out those specs first.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 March 2016 - 02:34 AM

View PostDarenR, on 16 March 2016 - 09:22 AM, said:

lots of games store the info in sql servers or oracle however oracle blows so stay clear