6 Replies - 8029 Views - Last Post: 08 December 2007 - 12:51 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

GetURL Problem in Firefox

Posted 07 December 2007 - 05:22 PM

I recently started learning Flash, and I'm using Flash 8. I'm making a flash-based Myspace profile, and I need help using the GetURL function for some of my buttons.

There's a test page of what I'm working on here:
http://www.myspace.com/mikerowsoft

If you notice on the left-hand side, there are four buttons that say
"message me"
"add me"
"my pictures"
"rate profile"

These are buttons that have actions applied to them to open the links assigned to them.
on (release) {
	getURL("http://collect.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=invite.addfriend_verify&friendID=23222946","_self");	
}

The above snippet is th action assigned to the buttons. Now using Internet Explorer 6 they work just fine. (There may be a problem with IE7, but I'm not sure.) And in Firefox 2 they fail to open at all.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: GetURL Problem in Firefox

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: GetURL Problem in Firefox

Posted 07 December 2007 - 06:11 PM

I found this tutorial on how to make the function work with Firefox. It is not working, because Flash changes the semi-colon into a "|" character which then forces FireFox to think its a new tab. Here is the link:

http://www.actionscr...S-30/Page1.html
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:15 PM

I've never had that problem with getUrl in Firefox. I've passed both string literals and string variables without a problem.

It's probably happening as a result of MySpace's restrictions on cross-domain scripting of Flash. From what I've read, they add a few parameters to the embed tag. They also prevent Javascript from being included in the page, which would prevent users from changing the created tags.