9 Replies - 1550 Views - Last Post: 14 April 2016 - 05:56 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

C++ without fear Edition 3

Posted 13 April 2016 - 06:24 AM

I am a beginner with C++ and decided to try to go at it again. I have learned a real little bit or basics in 98 at college with Borland Turbo C++. Yes that was the first and last time I used it. My son has been very fluid with Lua Scripting on Roblox and decided he would like to try something else like C++ and I am looking for a book that would be great with Bucky's videos on thenewboston.com. I was wondering if this book is good because they did not have C++ primer at barns and nobles. I googled reviews and got 3 reviews from 7 different sites. So I am asking people that might have read this book is it a good starter would it help us on our journey? You guys are awesome and the name of the book is the title C++ without fear 3rd Edition

by the way I looked for other books but every site i went to was like 2011 and talked about C++ 11 and this one was newer. thanks :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C++ without fear Edition 3

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: C++ without fear Edition 3

Posted 13 April 2016 - 09:16 AM

I am talking about third edition not the first or second. Someone said it was horrid but that was the first edition.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 April 2016 - 12:04 PM

As far as most of the core language and libraries go, C++11 is really still the "latest version" of C++. C++14 includes a bunch of minor tweaks and hotfixes, many of which either relate to weird edge/corner cases in the language, or relate to other advanced features, or they just make your compiler a bit more intelligent/intuitive.