10 Replies - 1502 Views - Last Post: 13 February 2008 - 06:39 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

i am new

Post icon  Posted 10 December 2007 - 08:41 AM

hi i am new. i am also new to programing were should i start. I have done some programing with game maker and html
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: i am new

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: i am new

Posted 10 December 2007 - 10:19 AM

If your goal is to get heavy into the games and make a career out of it, I strongly recommend learning C++ as a foundation and then go into a language of choice like DirectX, XNA, or OpenGL. Either way, C++ is heavy in the industry and is the backbone of a lot of development.

I would start with getting yourself a nice C++ book, work through the small projects and keep the goal of gaming in mind. Make some little text games and move up to more visual languages where you can then build environments and game characters.

It would be helpful if you also learned some modeling and effects. You could use game making engines but if you want to go up and beyond, you will have to have the fundamentals down pat. Go to your local bookstore and find a great C++ beginner book that has plenty of examples, lots of topics and even projects at the end of each chapter.

Then ask any questions you have on here and we can help you take care of the rest. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 December 2007 - 12:09 PM

View PostMartyr2, on 10 Dec, 2007 - 10:19 AM, said:

If your goal is to get heavy into the games and make a career out of it, I strongly recommend learning C++ as a foundation and then go into a language of choice like DirectX, XNA, or OpenGL. Either way, C++ is heavy in the industry and is the backbone of a lot of development.