10 Replies - 867 Views - Last Post: 02 May 2016 - 08:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

"Learn Python the Hard Way" Help

Posted 01 May 2016 - 04:43 PM

Hi, I'm totally new to Python and coding, so please use layman's terms. As per the suggestion of a helpful user on this very forum, I have begun the course entitled "Learn Python the Hard Way." I'm really set on following every word its author says and doing a real thorough job of it. However first I had to go to the appendix and learn how to use Terminal in Mac because apparently that's very necessary. I have to memorize a whole bunch of terms. Not a problem. But so the second exercise he has me doing is learning to PWD ("Print Working Directory"). I typed the command into the terminal and I think the prompt came up as expected.

However, he (the author of "LPTHW") described the desired result as follows:

"There's a prompt.
You type a command there. In this case, it's pwd.
It printed something.
Repeat"

I do not have a printer accessible. Do I need one to move on in the appendix? Or is this even talking about printing in the conventional sense, or does it mean something totally different in Python/code? I don't want to move on before I completely understand. Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: "Learn Python the Hard Way" Help

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Screw Trump (before he screws you)
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: "Learn Python the Hard Way" Help

Posted 01 May 2016 - 04:52 PM

"print" in programmer-speak generally means "output to the terminal". This dates back to the old days when the standard output device was a teletype machine, and you'd actually be printing your output to long sheets of fanfold.

You'll notice that terminal sessions are referred to by a "tty" number - this is another reference to teletype.