10 Replies - 704 Views - Last Post: 19 May 2016 - 10:36 AM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Beginner with a few questions

Posted 17 May 2016 - 02:41 PM

So at work I am being trained in Javascript by being thrown an already live application and adding very small changes to it, but with Javascript I really just have a basic 101 level of understanding. So I have to learn certain things on the fly.

So my first question:

I have this function:
function alert_BindFilterNEvents (id, index)
Yet the parameters are not set anywhere in the .js page. There is a .css page and .php page, and I don't see anywhere in those pages where those parameters are set. So is there anyone who could perhaps give me hints on where I could typically find where a parameter is if it is not set in a .js page? This may be to general of a question to answer, if so let me know other details that would help you help me.

2nd question:

Since I have little experience in PHP, Javascript and CSS, can anyone lead me to a good tutorial that shows how they work together?

3rd question:

If someone gave you a page of code that you had no idea what it is in fact doing, how would you best disseminate the code to learn what it is doing? Pretend that you don't know JS or PHP....

I don't have any deadline or time frame so I could take a bit of time figuring this out, but I don't want to spend a lot of time educating myself with bad information or going in the wrong direction, as I want to head in the right direction.

Thanks advance for your help and apologies if this is a very general question. And I am posting this as I leave work so I won't be able to respond to any questions until tomorrow. But I will gladly read anything reference wise that pertains to this.

This post has been edited by jphoc13: 17 May 2016 - 02:43 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Beginner with a few questions

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Beginner with a few questions