3 Replies - 524 Views - Last Post: 17 June 2016 - 08:28 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What language is used for user-matching on websites?

Posted 17 June 2016 - 07:44 AM

Hi all. I'm new here and have a question about which language is best suited for a certain feature on websites. I'm more just asking out of curiosity right now, but have some ideas rolling around in my head that I may pursue in the future :stuart:/>

I'm sure everyone has used, or at least seen, a website that has some type of user-matching feature. What I mean by that is, every user is asked certain questions, and then given a list of users who answered similarly. I know dating websites are a big part of that. However, I'm also thinking of other sites who will match you with, say, someone who has your taste in video games, or is looking to do a certain activity and is available at X time on Y days.

My question is, what language(s) are used to write what performs the matching? I have some experience in HTML/CSS, C++, Lua, Flash/ActionScript, etc. but I've never done anything remotely similar to what I'm asking (on a website), so I'm not sure what languages are best suited to do it on a website rather than in an external application. Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What language is used for user-matching on websites?

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What language is used for user-matching on websites?

Posted 17 June 2016 - 07:49 AM

More than likely, SQL.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 June 2016 - 07:52 AM

Thank you! I kind of figured it might be that or something similar, just wasn't sure.

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 17 June 2016 - 08:08 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 baavgai  Icon User is online

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 June 2016 - 08:28 AM

Any general purpose language would do.