5 Replies - 1494 Views - Last Post: 02 December 2016 - 06:15 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Maintaining a Language

Posted 21 June 2016 - 02:59 PM

So I've been learning Java from my high school for the past two years, and I've taken every Java course available. So, this means I won't be actively learning Java in a classroom setting for an entire year, until I start my college career. I really want to focus on web development over this year and I worry that I may lose all of my Java knowledge.

Does anyone have any tips on maintaining a programming language when it is not the language you're currently focusing on? Is forgetting all of my Java knowledge something I should even worry about?

p.s. Not sure if this is the right thread to post this is.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Maintaining a Language

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Maintaining a Language

Posted 21 June 2016 - 03:05 PM

Do you forget how to ride a bike if you haven't in a day, week, or month? Do you forget how to write if you haven't while you slept?

Memory is fluid and certainly things can fuzz a bit. Additionally memory isn't some jargarita where you fill it up to X and leave it for sometime to have two inches evaporate on you to be lost in to the ether.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Too busy for this
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 21 June 2016 - 03:36 PM

Do you know it, or did you memorize it? If you know it, you just need to touch on it a little. If you memorized it, you will likely forget it as it will be replaced with something else.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 26 November 2016 - 01:01 PM

If you really absorbed the material, you probably wo't completely forget it.