4 Replies - 628 Views - Last Post: 07 August 2016 - 04:39 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need Career Advice:From Embedded to backend

Posted 07 August 2016 - 07:39 AM

Hello again (as in for the 2nd time). I know I'm getting a bit potty but that's who I am, I tend to be as prepared as possible so I'm here starting another career related thread seeking seasoned & insightful opinions.

A little background about me:It's very likely that I will be working in the US in the future, and I'm trying to A. enrich my skill set and B. Trying to manage as much as possible so I'll have more options when I finally get to America. :dangole:

What I am now: Currently I'm an Electrical Engineer with programming experience (4 years) mostly in C. Most projects were IoT related.

What I hope to become: A skilled C++ programmer developing for internet-oriented/based applications.

My questions/quandaries:

I have a lot of questions but I managed to reduce them to just 4, so here they are, feel free to answer all, or some of them, but please try to leave the sequential numbers i.e. #1, #2, #3... there.

#1 Am I way in over my head, in the sense that the relevant jobs will be much, much more difficult and my previous C experiences will not help at all? Allow me to elaborate a bit, I've done my homework and a few keywords stood out: Linux & C++ (duh) Mysql, socket programming, TCP/IP protocol, multi-threading, etc. I'll be honest, I've reviewed all the coding examples and so far I found none of them intimidating, but learning all of them to be qualified as "entry level" could take 5? months or longer. So what do you think? Is it dumb to try to pick them up... at all ?