Installation frustration with Ubuntu

• (2 Pages)
  • +

28 Replies - 1093 Views - Last Post: 02 September 2016 - 12:13 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Installation frustration with Ubuntu

Posted 01 September 2016 - 11:49 AM

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I am getting annoyed at trying to find help for anything with Ubuntu. I google a question and I get an answer like this:

"Oh, this is so simple, just type in sudo -x chio ./fniosd.fjvc and you're done.'

I do so, and it doesn't work. So I click on the next entry, and that doesn't work.

Now I'm not a complete noob, I have studied the UNIX command line, but I am by no means an expert. I would, however, like to be able to install some programs every now and then. Searching for how to install a program on ubuntu, ALWAYS comes up with questions from people about how do it, and some vague answers like the one above that never wants to work. Searching for how to use ubuntu is a little vague and seems to turn up some very general results. I can't seem to find a simple guide that can help me. I don't know. Maybe I'm not using the right search terms or something, but this is really starting to annoy the heck out of me.

Can anyone please provide me with some help, or some links to where I can get some help with this please?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Installation frustration with Ubuntu

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Installation frustration with Ubuntu

Posted 01 September 2016 - 11:50 AM

What do the logs say?
What is the output of sudo -l?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 01 September 2016 - 01:16 PM