4 Replies - 582 Views - Last Post: 14 October 2016 - 05:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Why doesn't this work? (Haskell - A Long string of Let - in's)

Posted 13 October 2016 - 10:10 PM

I'm just learning Haskell and Functional Programming and can't seem to figure out why this doesn't work... Can anyone advise?

let a = 0 in
    b = incr(a) in 
    	c = incr(B)/> in
    		d = incr(c) in
    			e = incr(d) in
    				f = incr(e) in
    					g = incr(f) in
    						h = incr(g) in
    							i = incr(h) in
                                                                incr(a) + incr(B)/> + incr(c) + incr(d) + incr(e) + incr(f) + incr(g) + incr(h) + incr(i) 

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why doesn't this work? (Haskell - A Long string of Let - in's)

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Why doesn't this work? (Haskell - A Long string of Let - in's)

Posted 13 October 2016 - 10:22 PM

(Update: Made a bit of typo in my original post)

View Postotyca, on 13 October 2016 - 10:10 PM, said:

I'm just learning Haskell and Functional Programming and can't seem to figure out why this doesn't work... Can anyone advise?

let a = 0 in
    b = incr(a) in 
    	c = incr(B)/> in
    		d = incr(c) in
    			e = incr(d) in
    				f = incr(e) in
    					g = incr(f) in
    						h = incr(g) in
    							i = incr(h) in
                                                            incr(a) + incr(B)/> + incr(c) + incr(d) + incr(e) + incr(f) + incr(g) + incr(h) + incr(i) 

I can't seem to fix my error in my original post (keeps reverting back my changes), but the incr(B)/> should be incr(B) and the indentation on the last line is a bit off. I'm sorry I would fix the error if I could figure out how to (but it seems as though it does allow me to).

View Postotyca, on 13 October 2016 - 10:15 PM, said:

let a = 0 in
    b = incr(a) in 
    	c = incr(B)/> in
    		d = incr(c) in
    			e = incr(d) in
    				f = incr(e) in
    					g = incr(f) in