2 Replies - 1260 Views - Last Post: 29 January 2017 - 12:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Rock, Paper, Scissors Program

Posted 28 January 2017 - 08:37 PM

Hey, I am working on this Rock, paper, scissors program but I have run into 2 problems, the first one, every once in a while when i hit the '2' option it goes straight to the invalid choice option and the code looks just like the '1' and '3' option so I have no clue what is going on, the second problem is I can't get the game to start after the user enters 'y' to play the game, However instead of 1 game I am going to be creating the Lizard, Spock game underneath the first program than the prompt will ask which game they want to play, the coding is very long because I am a beginner programmer and I know there is much faster ways to get it working, so I'm not sure if it will all fit on this forum but I can post everything I have if possible. Let me know, thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Rock, Paper, Scissors Program

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Rock, Paper, Scissors Program

Posted 28 January 2017 - 09:08 PM

It's a little hard to diagnose issues without seeing what you are actually doing. :^:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Rock, Paper, Scissors Program

Posted 29 January 2017 - 12:54 PM

Ok let me see if it will fit..I only got the 1 program complete, the other program I will make after I get the Do you want to play the game working:

player_choice = 0
wins = 0
losses = 0
draws = 0

menu = [
    "1. Paper",
    "2. Rock",
    "3. Scissors",
    "4. Quit",
]
puts "Welcome to Rock, Paper, Scissors. Try to outsmart the computer to win. The menu options are as follows: " + menu.to_s + " Please enter only 1-4 in the menu options:"
puts "Do you want to play? Y for Yes or N for No. "
play = gets.to_s.downcase
if play == "y"

while player_choice != 4
  menu.each do | item |