14 Replies - 1323 Views - Last Post: 03 February 2017 - 07:51 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice for someone considering software engineering as a 2nd degree

Posted 02 February 2017 - 09:54 AM

Hi everyone,
Obviously have not posted here (ever) but I figured this would be a good place to start my search.
I work as an international trade consultant, so I help small/medium sized US businesses sell more of their products internationally and troubleshoot challenges/barriers to doing so. I am good at what I do in the 2 years I've been a professional, but I'm starting to think that sales/business isn't playing to my strengths. I can definitely succeed here but I'm wondering if I will ever be 100% happy in this role.
My friends from school were software engineers and now have very solid jobs with less of the pain points I experience in my role. I feel as if my business background, paired with leadership and communication skills, could put me ahead in a field that my strengths play more to. The jobs/companies I'm familiar with at this time have consultancy roles (which I am qualified for now) & software engineering roles. I think having the skills/experience in both departments could really benefit me.
All this being said, how do I know for sure whether this career path would be good for me? Are any of you aware of any "aptitude" or "placement" tests I could take to reaffirm my initial ideas (or really any general questions to help make a decision one way or the other)?
I appreciate any advice/comments you offer. I've been struggling with this idea of going back to school for the last 4 weeks and I'm ready to act on the idea or put it to rest.
Thanks!
T

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice for someone considering software engineering as a 2nd degree

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Advice for someone considering software engineering as a 2nd degree

Posted 02 February 2017 - 10:00 AM