WinForms vs. WPF (again)

• (3 Pages)
  • +

32 Replies - 9271 Views - Last Post: 10 April 2017 - 03:36 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: WinForms vs. WPF (again)

Posted 24 February 2017 - 05:41 PM

Well you're probably way better at programming, more intelligent, etc... I don't have a lot of time and noone is teaching me... so I have to be as efficient as possible and when I have to google compiler glitches every hour it really puts a damper on my workflow as a n00b.

I'll take another pass at it monday I guess.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 February 2017 - 06:22 AM

> Well you're probably way better at programming, more intelligent, etc...
Probably not. I just started before you.

> I don't have a lot of time and noone is teaching me...
Same as me. Job. Family. No college. Self taught. Sounds like most of the people that I know that are actually good at their jobs. People that care about a topic so much that they spend their free time learning it are the motivated people. The students that had 4 years of someone teaching them in class have consistently had the least to offer. I think its because they learn from 10 year old text books and through a system that makes more money if they slow down the learning and spread it across as many course-credits as they can.

The guys that self-learn have holes in their education: Absolutely. And I'm one of them. There are obscure patterns and techniques that I don't know that could be beneficial here and there. But they learn what is used today, for today's world, looking at today's help-wanted ads and the skillsets that employers are wanting. I that means they later have to concentrate on delegates, or take a back-step to learn about how to programmatically change a BIOS setting because of a specific need - that's a 1 in 5,000 need.