7 Replies - 2453 Views - Last Post: 09 March 2017 - 06:15 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

When you started out as a developer, did you put yourself down ?

Posted 08 March 2017 - 02:05 PM

Hello,

I've been a software developer (by profession) for maybe 1.5 years, as a hobby (3-4 years). I'm by no means an expert in any language, still junior/edging toward intermediate.

This question is toward the more experienced developers maybe 3-5 years onward.

No matter what code I put together, how much effort I put into following OO principles, refactoring the code over and over, I always look at my code, no matter what it may be, and I put it down. I criticise and assume every other developer who looks at my code is stunned by how bad it is. Essentially I'm always ashamed to show anybody with any knowledge and skill in this field any of my work.

Is this a normal feeling when you enter the software dev field ? If so, when did you overcome this and is their any tips you'd put my way ?

Thanks,
James

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: When you started out as a developer, did you put yourself down ?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: When you started out as a developer, did you put yourself down ?

Posted 08 March 2017 - 02:09 PM

Welcome to 'imposter syndrome'.

https://blog.valbonn...re-development/
https://www.laserfic...an-too-program/
https://www.hanselma...honyAreYou.aspx

Is it normal? No.. it shouldn't be normal anywhere, but it happens. How do you get past it? Varies from folk to folk.. but mostly snag some confidence, build on it, keep learning, etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 08 March 2017 - 02:12 PM

I'm both relieved I'm not the only person who suffers from this, hence the links.... I'm also gutted I now have a 'syndrome' :(

Thanks for those links, I will give them an extensive read tonight.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Too busy for this
  • member icon

• View blog