Computer Networking, Two-Player Interactive Game

#1 DK3250  Icon User is online

• Pythonian
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 March 2017 - 07:40 AM

Computer Networking, Two-Player Interactive Game

Disclaimer
It is only fair to admit that Python Network Programming is not my core competence. Some code lines are still a bit unclear to me.
What I present here is very simple and probably not an optimal code. But it works. I'll be happy to get feedback and suggestions improving the performance.

Background
With this tutorial, I move into an area where I am still a novice. I have, however, spend quite long time figuring out how to connect two computers for interactive gaming. My code works and there is no other tutorial that covers the subject.

So, bear with me if something is not best practice – and do come forward with suggestions for improvements.

The code is the simplest I can think of; two icons move around on the screen. They do nothing and do not interact. But they are controlled from two different computers – and the game play is up to you.

Nevertheless, this tutorial will be fairly large. We need to cover DHCP addresses and IP addresses, Router settings, the socket module and finally the interactive game.

DHCP address
DHCP is acronym for Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol. Your DHCP address is the unique number used in communication to your Router, something like ”192.168.0.18” or “10.0.0.8”. To find the DHCP address, open a command prompt and type 'ipconfig', you'll get an output like:

Posted Image

The address is here called Ipv4 Address. I normally use the term 'DHCP address' for addresses inside the Router, and 'IP address' for the Router access from the Internet. Often, both are just called 'IP'.

If you plan to connect to another computer on the same Router e.g. A family member in the same house, you should also look for the DHCP address of this other computer. More to read: http://whatismyipaddress.com/dhcp

Ports